Can hypnosis be used as a cure for insomnia?

My answer on Quora:

I don’t use the word ‘cure’, but hypnotherapy and related techniques can certainly help insomnia.

My normal approach is to teach clients self-help techniques that I’ve successfully used for myself – self-hypnosis, EFT (Emotional Freedom Techniques) and a few other things. I also give them instruction in ‘sleep hygiene’ – changing various habits which can have a negative effect on sleep patterns.

Usually clients find that one or more of these techniques work for them, but occasionally it may be necessary to deal with underlying causes; stress is an obvious one, but there may also be something buried in the unconscious mind that needs to be found through analytical methods such as regression or parts work.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
