Do you really want to become a non-smoker, now?

I’m a hypnotherapist but I can’t hypnotise you into stopping smoking against your will. I’m also a magician, but I can’t do it with a wave of my magic wand either. But what I can do is help you to give up – if you want to. Pressure from your family on its own is not enough; I’m always suspicious, for example, when a wife rings up to make an appointment for her husband – that’s not going to work.

Having said that, there are both conscious and unconscious reasons for wanting to carry on smoking. I start my client sessions with a general chat to find out the conscious ones and then we probe a little deeper to get at the unconscious reasons and see what we can do about them.

Smoking is both a physical and a psychological addiction and both need to be dealt with. Personal circumstances make a difference too; if you’re going through a stressful time in your life – moving house, for example – it’s not a good time to try to give up. It’s not that smoking relaxes you – it just relieves the nicotine withdrawal symptoms – but if your unconscious mind has linked it to stress relief you need to train it otherwise. This may involve dealing with underlying issues as part of the process of giving up or instructing you in stress management techniques.

Generally I use a single session approach. I combine hypnotherapy with NLP, and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) too, which is particularly useful for getting over the short-term nicotine withdrawal symptoms. NLP and EFT work over the phone, and even better on Skype with a webcam; I prefer face-to-face consultations but I can work this way if it’s more convenient for you.

If you really want to become a non-smoker, improve your health and save money – I can help.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
